Fayetteville State University Reorganizes Education and Business to be Colleges and Nursing and Social Work to be Schools

Fayetteville State University’s academic organizational structure is different this fall 2017. Effective August 1, the School of Education is now the College of Education and similarly the School of Business and Economics is the College of Business and Economics. These new nomenclatures reflect the collective importance of each unit in terms of its array of course delivery, variety of degrees, and multiple disciplines offered. Dr. Marion Gillis-Olion continues as Dean of the College of Education as does Dr. Pamela Jackson of the College of Business and Economics.

Also effective August 1, in the College of Arts and Sciences, two academic departments —Nursing and Social Work — are now Schools. Establishment of the School of Nursing and School of Social Work is in recognition of the rapid increase in the number of graduates in these disciplines and the importance of these programs to FSU and North Carolina. The new School designations enhance opportunities for recruiting faculty and students along with securing external funding. Dr. Afua Arhin is the Associate Dean of the School of Nursing and Dr. Terri Moore-Brown is the Interim Associate Dean of the School of Social Work.

Overall, the new academic organizational structure strategically enables FSU to strengthen the academic programs and promote the educational, social, cultural, and economic transformation of southeastern North Carolina and beyond.

FSU is a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina and the second-oldest public institution of higher education in the state. FSU offers nearly 60 degrees at the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels. With more than 6,200 students, Fayetteville State University is among the most diverse institutions in the nation.