STEM Scholars Selected for Summer Internship at MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Fayetteville State University (FSU) students Kyndreshia Stroman, a junior mathematics major, and Malik Oliver, a sophomore, 3+2 FSU/NC State chemistry and chemical engineering major, have been selected for research internships for the summer 2014 at MIT Lincoln Laboratory. Kyndreshia and Malik, both Center for Defense and Homeland Security STEM Scholars, are following in the footsteps of previous CDHS’STEM Scholars Bernard Hamilton (the Airborne Networks Group), Eric McLean (the Bioengineering Systems and Technologies Group) and Adrian McLean (the Homeland Protection Systems Group.)

This summer, Kyndreshia will conduct research with Group 65, the Airborne Networks Group which specializes in tactical networking technologies and systems supporting unique government requirements. A primary focus of the group is communications and network systems for high mobility airborne platforms, where communications topologies and adverse channel conditions are subject to rapid change. Malik’s research will be focused within the Chemical and Biological Defense Systems Group (Group 47) which develops systems and technology for disaster preparedness, detection, mitigation, and attribution, with emphasis on chemical and biological defense. Principal sponsors are the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of Defense.

“The summer internships at Lincoln include the best and brightest students from many of the nation’s most prestigious universities. Living on MIT’s campus will provide Kyndreshia and Malik with a rich environment for networking with other students as well as investigate graduate program offerings,” said Dr. Curtis Charles, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Institutional Transformation and Executive Director, the Center for Defense and Homeland Security.

The Center for Defense and Homeland Security is comprised of an interdisciplinary team of scientists, technical and education specialists dedicated to preparing the next generation of National Security STEM professionals. CDHS Scholars represent disciplines in mathematics and computer science, biological sciences, chemistry and physics, math education, science education, special education, management information systems, economics, intelligence studies, social work, psychology, criminal justice, government and history, GIS/geography, emergency management, and business and finance. This interdisciplinary collaboration facilitates curricular innovations, partnerships, research, and faculty development to prepare the next generation of STEM graduates and national security professionals. The major focus area of the CDHS includes: K-12 STEM Education Outreach, Cybersecurity Threats, National Security Challenges, and Emergency Management.

FSU is a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina and the second-oldest public institution of higher education in the state. FSU offers nearly 60 degrees at the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels. With nearly 6,000 students, Fayetteville State University is among the most diverse institutions in the nation.

For more information, call 910-672-1474.